Piano Music of Hans von Bülow – vol.II 2018-08-22T21:30:19+00:00

Project Description

Hans von Bülow

Piano Music 2

  • Mazurka-Fantasie Op.13

  • Impromptu – Elfenjagd Op.14

  • Mazurka-Impromptu Op.4

  • Invitation a la Polka Op.6

  • Chant Polonais (all Mazurka) Op.12

  • Trois Valse Caracteristique Op.18

  • Königsmarsch Op.28

  • Released Jan 14, 2014

  • Label: Nimbus Records

  • Artist: Mark Anderson

  • Genre: Classical

  • Catalogue No. NI5907

Baron Hans Guido von Bülow (1839-1894) was a German conductor, virtuoso pianist, and composer of the Romantic era. One of the most famous conductors of the 19th century, his activity was critical for establishing the successes of several major composers of the time, especially Richard Wagner and Johannes Brahms. Alongside Carl Tausig, Bülow was perhaps the most prominent of the early students of Hungarian virtuoso pianist, conductor and composer Franz Liszt—therein performed the first public performance of Liszt’s Sonata in B minor in 1857. He became acquainted with, fell in love and eventually married Liszt’s daughter Cosima, who later left him for Wagner. Noted for his interpretation of the works of Ludwig van Beethoven, he was one of the earliest European musicians to tour the United States. In spite of his high-profile as one of the greatest conductors and concert pianists of the latter 19th century, his compositions are virtually unknown.


“Well recorded at Wyastone Leys and with excellent booklet notes by Paul Conway, this is a fascinating release that explores the byways of 19th century German music through one of the most famous conductors of the time. Though there are no undiscovered gems here, many of the pieces are most attractive and brilliantly played by Mark Anderson.” 

– theclassicalreviewer.blogspot.co.uk